The Paper Boat

Hello to all you my fellow bloggers

As i wrote in my previous post I was going to attempt to write outside my usual stuff and so I decided to change genres and write a mystery/crime novel.

I did not know much about how to do it, so I had to take up some advice and a course on outlining it.

I enrolled in a course «Outlining your novel» by Michael Dickson at Udemy. This particular one was offered at very affordable price and focused on mystery/crime who done it, kind of novel.

It has been a while now since I am attending this course and trying to make my idea into the outline he is teaching. I am working on it every day.

Yesterday I finalized a 25 page draft outline for a novel called «The Paper Boat» It is only a detailed but not comprehensive outline which needs to be enhanced with details and some research before I start the writing of the first draft.

My intention is to start writing the first draft soon and keep you posted. It is my first attempt but this is stuff I like to read so why not write also. I write every day on average three pages but I intend to increase my output starting next month.

For now I leave the outline to brew and do the research I need to fill in all the gaps. Until the end of this month.

Then I shall start writing my first draft. By that time I shall have finished the review of my previous draft of my novel «Misguided» I only work on one project at a time.

Have you attempted something on a new genre? How did that go the first time? Please post your thoughts in the comments below.

I am Eve a writer and painter who lives and works in the Greek islands. I am currently working on gathering the information required and doing my research for a new genre mystery/crime novel «The Paper Boat» and I am in the process of reviewing my previous novel «Misguided»

Σχολιάστε